I Heart G’s

Growing up in an LDS household I was used to garments. My dad walked around the house in a pair of basketball shorts and his g-top and my mother would often wear them as pajamas. I always knew that one day I would have to wear them and I did not look forward to it, this became more true the older I got. When I started wearing a bra I once wore a camisole underneath to experience what it feels like to wear a bra with garments. Let me tell you, it was NOT comfortable. I also had never owned shorts to my knees and eventually I began wearing tank tops with my mom’s required 2 inches of fabric to cover my shoulders.

The more I wore clothes that wouldn’t met garment standards the less I looked forward to growing up and eventually having to wear garments. I told myself that I would get married at 26 or 28 instead of the typical young age of 19. By that time it would be more flattering on my body to wear longer sleeves and shorts. Guess what? That didn’t happen. I was a young bride.

And guess what? I LOVE MY GARMENTS. I LOVE THEM. I LOVE THEM. I LOVE THEM!

They are not only meaningful and sacred but they are comfortable. I feel naked without them. I am so grateful that this huge commitment to wear garments became something I love.

 

Leave a Reply

